Oliver's Army to be on compilation called 'Mersey Boys And Liverpool Girls: The Sounds From The Mersey 1978-2001'
NME.com, 2001-03-08



ELVIS COSTELLO, THE LA'S, SHACK, CAST, THE LIGHTNING SEEDS and ECHO & THE BUNNYMEN are set to feature on a new compilation highlighting LIVERPOOL's contribution to music.

The album 'Mersey Boys And Liverpool Girls: The Sounds From The Mersey 1978-2001', was put together by Liverpool FC Museum And Tour Centre curator Stephen Done. The compilation also features Space, Wings and The Real People. 

The album, which is out on April 2 through EMI, will be launched with a concert at Liverpool John Moores University on March 22, featuring Ian McNabb, Amsterdam, Steven Kennedy, Speed and Danny from Ladytron.

The full tracklisting for 'Mersey Boys And Liverpool Girls' is:

  • Ian McNabb 'Liverpool Girl'
  • Cast 'Sandstorm'
  • The Real People 'People On the Telly'
  • Echo & The Bunnymen 'Back of Love'
  • Shack 'I Want You'
  • Elvis Costello 'Oliver's Army
  • Wings 'Deliver Your Children'
  • It's Immaterial 'Driving Away From Home'
  • The La's 'Feelin''
  • Steven Kennedy 'My Beautiful Land'
  • Speed 'Good Luck Charm
  • The Christians 'Forgotten Town'
  • China Crisis 'King In A Catholic Style'
  • Thomas Lang 'The Happy Man'
  • The Farm 'Groovy Train'
  • Ladytron 'He Took Her to A Movie'
  • OMD 'Julia's Song'
  • Lightning Seeds 'Lucky You'
  • Space 'Diary Of A Wimp'
  • Amsterdam 'It Hurts'
  • The Mighty Wah! 'Heart As Big As Liverpool